Welcome to Soldiers' / News
All Items

Dan Germain elected Chair of OSMH Board that will include 5 new Directors

Thursday, June 29, 2017

(Wednesday, June 28, 2017 - Orillia, ON) – The OSMH Board of Directors has 5 new Directors and a new Chair following the Corporation’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) and Inaugural Meeting of the new Board on Tuesday evening.  

Dan Germain, who served as Vice-Chair for the past two years, transitions into the Chair’s role, succeeding Jeff French who completed a successful two-year term at the helm as part of his seven year tenure on the Board.

“The time has flown by,” said French.  “I’m proud of the work the Board has accomplished and I’m grateful to my colleagues and everyone at the hospital for the support they’ve provided me during my time on the Board.” 

At the AGM, Germain was among a group of 7 Directors appointed to the Board by the corporate members.  It marks the start of Germain’s second, three-year term on the Board that he originally joined in 2014.

“I’m excited about the role and the challenges ahead,” said Germain, who was elected to the Chair’s position at the inaugural meeting of the Board immediately following the AGM.    Fellow incumbent Al Scott, approved for a third, three-year term, was elected to one of two Vice-Chair positions along with Leigh Popov.

“The hospital Board has enjoyed tremendous leadership over the years and it’s my intent to build on the momentum generated by my predecessors.  We’ve got a dynamic blend of experienced and new Board members who I’m confident will serve the corporation and the needs of the communities well,” said Germain.         

The five new Directors include Karen Barrer, Mario Benedetto, Margaret Martin, John Mattinson and Ted Williams.  Mattinson joined the Board by filling a vacancy midway through the previous year and was affirmed by the corporation at the AGM last night. 

In addition to French, the corporation also paid tribute to four other departing Board members, including Penny Bonner, Ted Emond, Jerry Young, and Dr. Ben McNaull.

A complete list of the new Board is available on the hospital’s website, www.osmh.on.ca under the About Us tab. 



OSMH Board of Directors

(as of June 27, 2017)


Elected Voting Members

Daniel Germain, Chair

Al Scott, 1st Vice-Chair 

Leigh Popov, 2nd Vice-Chair

Karen Barrer

Mario Benedetto

Margaret Martin

John Mattinson

Krista McKenzie

Michael McMurter

Brian Sirbovan

Ted Williams

Paulette Wilson


Ex-Officio Voting Members

Steve Clarke, Representative, City of Orillia
Chuck Penny, Representative, Royal Canadian Legion

Vacant , Representative, Nurses Alumni


Ex-Officio Non-Voting Members

Pat Campbell, President and CEO, Secretary

Dr. Rose Zacharias, President, Medical Staff Association

Dr. David Evans, Vice President, Medical Staff Association

Dr. Nancy Merrow, Chief of Staff

Kari Simpson-Adams, Chief Nursing Executive


For more information or to arrange an interview, please contact:

Terry Dyni

Director, Community Relations



Facebook DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati Del.icio.us NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Furl it!

Compassion Accountability Respect Engagement
© 2008 All Rights Reserved to Orillia Soldiers' Memorial Hospital.
Website designed by Integra Graphic Design Studio Inc. Powered by pavliks.com